Media Technology News

Weekend Challenge: Particles Galore!

Blender 3D News - Fri, 04/21/2017 - 11:31

I've always loved tinkering with particles and physics, creating mesmerising shapes or motion. Rediscover the beauty of particle systems in this weekend's challenge and create some wonderful abstract art! Rules: Post your work in the comments below (yes, we have a nifty new 'attach image' option below the comments box for this!) Post only new work, [...]

The post Weekend Challenge: Particles Galore! appeared first on BlenderNation.

Categories: 2D & 3D Animation

Yan's Daily Tips #107 - Bandages With Shrinkwrap - Blender Tutorial

Blender 3D News - Fri, 04/21/2017 - 06:15

Yanal Sosak writes: In this YDT we will take a look at creating these bandage wraps quite easily for your characters.

The post Yan's Daily Tips #107 - Bandages With Shrinkwrap - Blender Tutorial appeared first on BlenderNation.

Categories: 2D & 3D Animation

Sunny and Gerd - Blender Animated Short

Blender 3D News - Fri, 04/21/2017 - 02:05

Nimble Collective writes: It’s time for Spring Cleaning. No, not the yearly removal of household clutter, but an all-new whimsical animated short from Canadian storyteller DaCosta, creator of the annual March of Robots! event. Catch his robo-besties, Sunny and Gerd, in their very first adventure! Created in Blender, this is DaCosta's directorial debut. Sunny and [...]

The post Sunny and Gerd - Blender Animated Short appeared first on BlenderNation.

Categories: 2D & 3D Animation

Royale Audio releases Royale Filter - Free AU Plug-in for Mac

Audio Freeware - Fri, 04/21/2017 - 02:02
Royale Audio, a new plug-in developer from Brazil, has released Royale Filter, a free AudioUnits plug-in for Mac. Here's what they say: "The company is the result of the joined forces of developer [Read More]

Tek'it Audio updates "Winkl" to v1.2.1 - Free VST & AU distortion plug-in for Win & Mac

Audio Freeware - Fri, 04/21/2017 - 01:40
Tek'it Audio has updated Winkl, a free foldback distortion for VST2, VST3 and Audio Unit plug-in formats to version 1.2.1. This update focus mainly on performance improvements for all plugin [Read More]

UVI updates UVI Workstation to v2.6.10

Audio Freeware - Fri, 04/21/2017 - 01:23
UVI has updated UVI Workstation to version 2.6.10. Changes: [New] Sync engine features with Falcon. [Fix] Regression regarding some popup menu font size in some script. Current owners can update [Read More]

Path - Animation

Blender 3D News - Thu, 04/20/2017 - 23:21

Eric Soares remade an old scene of his game project, Heart Of Sphere. The color palette, vibrant render, and cute models really makes it pop. There is also a small animation and a time-lapse included, enjoy :)!

The post Path - Animation appeared first on BlenderNation.

Categories: 2D & 3D Animation

Supporting the next evolution of Drupal's Community Governance

Drupal - Thu, 04/20/2017 - 20:19

TL;DR: Both the community and Dries Buytaert, Project Lead, see a need to evolve Drupal community governance. The Drupal Association can help in a support role. We will start by hosting mediated community discussions so everyone around the world can participate, be heard and understood, and share their ideas. Creating a new governance model will take many months and will require an agile approach as we all feel our way through the proper steps. The Drupal Association will continue to find ways to support this process as we all move through it together.

-------------

Over the last several weeks, the Drupal Association has been in listening mode — and we still are. We’re hearing community members say they need clarity and understanding, and that our community governance needs to change. As we process what we’re hearing, we want to find the best way to help the community address the issues being raised, within the boundaries of the Drupal Association charter.

The Drupal Association’s mission is to unite the global community to help build and promote the software. We do that in two very specific ways: DrupalCon and Drupal.org. We’re determining how best to meet the community’s needs as it relates to these two key community homes. In the near future, I will publish blogs with ideas on how we might address the various needs we are hearing.

Evolving Community Governance

There is one need that we hear loud and clear that we can address today: The community needs support to evolve community governance structures and processes. Both the community at large, and Dries Buytaert, Project Lead, have expressed this need, and we are glad to see this alignment.  

It’s important to note that the Drupal Association has a very limited role in community governance. Our only role in governance stems directly from our charter to manage DrupalCon and Drupal.org.

It’s not within our charter to oversee community governance or drive its evolution. The last thing the Drupal Association wants is to step outside of our charter or accidentally take away the community’s agency in self-organizing to create the new community governance model. However, we do want to facilitate forward movement. And so, we can take a support role.

We hear that many in the community want to come together to talk. We can support this by providing a meeting place (both in person and online), and a mediator for community discussions.

We have asked Whitney Hess, a coach who has worked with the Drupal community before, to facilitate and mediate community discussions, where people can come together to talk about current community issues and explore ideas for improved governance. These discussions will start at DrupalCon Baltimore and continue in a series of online meetings, scheduled at different times so members around the world can participate. [see more details below]

To provide transparency for those who cannot attend the discussion sessions, we will post meeting minutes and summaries from each community discussion here: https://drupal.org/community/discussions.

As facilitator of these community discussions, Whitney Hess will provide a summary to give us a broad perspective on the “voice of the community.” We hope these conversations will ground the community as it begins architecting its new governance model.

Once we have had these discussions we can decide together on the appropriate next steps, and how the Association can help the community continue to move forward, together.

Join Community Discussions

We hope you'll join the conversation as these discussions begin. Again, our overarching aim is to support the community so it can be healthy and continue to thrive. We believe that open conversation is essential to the wellbeing of any community and we look forward to hosting Community Discussions mediated by Whitney Hess. Please join fellow community members to talk through recent community issues and to be part of co-creating Drupal’s new governance model.

Here are the discussions you can join. Please note the ground rules below:

At DrupalCon Baltimore         

Location: Pratt Street Show Office

Details: https://events.drupal.org/baltimore2017/community-discussion

  • Tuesday, 12-1pm, max 45 participants

  • Tuesday, 2:15-3:15pm, max 15

  • Tuesday, 5-6pm, max 15

  • Wednesday, 2:15-3:15pm, max 15

  • Wednesday, 3:45-4:45pm, max 15

  • Thursday, 10:45-11:45am, max 15

  • Thursday, 1-2pm, max 45

Virtual Meetings after DrupalCon

Sign Up Here: https://events.drupal.org/virtual/community-discussions
        

  • Tuesday, May 9: 4pm EDT / 1pm PDT / 9pm BST / 10pm CEST / 6am +1 AEST

  • Wednesday, May 10: 8am EDT / 1pm BST / 2pm CEST / 5:30pm IST / 10pm AEST

  • Thursday, May 11: 9:30am EDT / 2:30pm BST / 3:30pm CEST / 7pm IST / 11:30pm AEST

  • Friday, May 12: 2pm EDT / 11am PDT / 7pm BST / 8pm CEST / 11:30pm IST

  • Tuesday, May 16: 8pm EDT / 5pm PDT / 10am AEST

  • Wednesday, May 17: 12pm EDT / 9am PDT / 5pm BST / 6pm CEST / 9:30pm IST

  • Thursday, May 18: 3pm EDT / 12pm PDT / 8pm BST / 9pm CEST

Ground Rules for Community Discussions

Key Principles of Nonviolent Communication

  • Responsibility for Our Feelings: We aim to move away from blame, shame, judgment, and criticism by connecting our feelings to our own needs. This recognition empowers us to take action to meet our needs instead of waiting for others to change.

  • Responsibility for Our Actions: We aim to recognize our choice in each moment, and take action based on seeing how it would meet our needs to do so; we aim to move away from taking action based on fear, guilt, shame, the desire for reward, or any “should” or “have to.”

  • Prioritizing Connection: We aim to focus on connection instead of immediate solutions, and to trust that connecting with our own and others’ needs is more likely to lead to creating solutions that meet everyone’s needs.

  • Equal Care for Everyone’s Needs: We aim to make requests and not demands; when hearing disagreement with our request, or when disagreeing with another’s request, we aim to work towards solutions that meet everyone’s needs, not just our own, and not just the other person’s.

  • Self-Expression: When expressing ourselves, we aim to speak from the heart, expressing our feelings and needs, and making specific, doable requests rather than demands.

  • Empathic Hearing: When we hear others, we aim to hear the feelings and needs behind the expressions, even when they express judgments or demands.

  • Protective Use of Force: We aim to use force only to protect, not to punish others or get our way without the other’s agreement, and only in situations where the principles above were not sufficient to meet immediate needs for safety. We aim to return to dialogue as soon as safety is re-established

How These Ground Rules Work

  • Ground rules will be stated at the beginning of each session.

  • If you are not in agreement with the ground rules, please do not participate in the session.

  • If a participant is repeatedly disruptive of respectful, productive discussion, they will be asked to leave; if they do not leave, the session will be terminated immediately.

Add-on: Particle Instantiator [$]

Blender 3D News - Thu, 04/20/2017 - 14:40

Tim Zoet's Particle Instantiator add-on bakes all kinds of particle systems into animated geometries. Blender’s particle system is known to be somewhat limited. While you can simulate large numbers of particles, animating individual particles can be difficult. With the Particle Instantiator add-on, you can turn your particles into real objects. These objects follow the exact [...]

The post Add-on: Particle Instantiator [$] appeared first on BlenderNation.

Categories: 2D & 3D Animation

Benchmarking "Disney" Principled BSDF

Blender 3D News - Thu, 04/20/2017 - 12:30

BlackhartFilms takes a hard look at the new 'Principled BSDF' PBR shader node that will be included in Blender 2.79. 2.79 is shaping up to be an exciting update, including proper Shadow Catchers, Persistent Data to massively speed up animation renders, but arguably most exciting is the new Principled BSDF shader, based on Disneys Pixar [...]

The post Benchmarking "Disney" Principled BSDF appeared first on BlenderNation.

Categories: 2D & 3D Animation

Capstone City

Blender 3D News - Thu, 04/20/2017 - 10:25

This is one incredible render by Tomasz Artur Bolek. A unique render style in the age of saturated artists online is definitely worth being recognized. I can definitely see this style with many different cities, and famous monuments. What do you guys think of this render style? Artstation Link

The post Capstone City appeared first on BlenderNation.

Categories: 2D & 3D Animation

Liqube Audio updates Resonic Player and Pro Audio Player and Sample Manager to v0.8.7b for Windows

Audio Freeware - Thu, 04/20/2017 - 09:00
Liqube Audio has updated Resonic, an audio player and sample manager for Windows, to v0.8.7b. New features: Pro: Playback and metadata support for RF64 Wave files (MBWF, BWF Wave, Broadcast [Read More]

Continental uses Blender and Blend4Web for E-Learning

Blender 3D News - Thu, 04/20/2017 - 08:20

Blend4Web write about another high-profile project that uses their web publishing engine. Hi @all! Once again, Blender and Blend4Web became weapons of choice for a serious company. Here is how Continental, a leading German automotive manufacturer, uses our favorite tools for e-learning.

The post Continental uses Blender and Blend4Web for E-Learning appeared first on BlenderNation.

Categories: 2D & 3D Animation

Yan's Daily Tips #106 - Sculpting Hair Quick Tip - Blender Tutorial

Blender 3D News - Thu, 04/20/2017 - 06:15

Yanal Sosak writes: Here is a quick look on one of the bonus contents you will get with the upcoming sculpting course. I talk about how to go on about sculpting hair in Blender.

The post Yan's Daily Tips #106 - Sculpting Hair Quick Tip - Blender Tutorial appeared first on BlenderNation.

Categories: 2D & 3D Animation

Intro to Normal Map Modeling for Games [$]

Blender 3D News - Thu, 04/20/2017 - 04:10

CG Cookie has published a new learning track on normal map modeling, a common technique for game developers to help optimize performance while still keeping the suggestion of a lot of detail in their models. pavla writes: Should you model for quality or performance? The answer is a balance of both! Normal mapping is a [...]

The post Intro to Normal Map Modeling for Games [$] appeared first on BlenderNation.

Categories: 2D & 3D Animation

Rosegarden 17.04 "Twice in a Blue Moon" released

Audio Freeware - Thu, 04/20/2017 - 02:23
The Rosegarden team has announced the release of version 17.04 of Rosegarden, the musical notation editor and MIDI sequencer for Linux. The most visible change in 17.04 is that David Faure has [Read More]

Image: Bacon

Blender 3D News - Thu, 04/20/2017 - 02:05

This is for all the Bacon lovers out there, done in Blender. I do enjoy food renders, there should be more of those :)! Joakim Tornhill: My daughter loved bacon and when I asked her what to do in Blender, it was just "Bacon, bacon, bacon". Well, then I just had to try to do [...]

The post Image: Bacon appeared first on BlenderNation.

Categories: 2D & 3D Animation

Tutorial: Ink Dropping in Water Simulation

Blender 3D News - Thu, 04/20/2017 - 00:24

Gabz writes: In this blender tutorial, of the Animation & Physics series, we see how to create a drop of ink in the water. We use the smoke system that blender provides to create this beautiful ink effect. Thanks!

The post Tutorial: Ink Dropping in Water Simulation appeared first on BlenderNation.

Categories: 2D & 3D Animation

E-Book: Substance Painter for Blender Users

Blender 3D News - Wed, 04/19/2017 - 12:30

Toudou writes: Hi, This is Toudou. I have recently released e-book titled "Substance Painter for Blender Users". This book explains effectively how to use Substance Painter, what we need for collaboration between Blender and the Substance Painter and how to use textures created by the Substance Painter in the Blender. You can learn how to [...]

The post E-Book: Substance Painter for Blender Users appeared first on BlenderNation.

Categories: 2D & 3D Animation

Fallout Universe Lootroom

Blender 3D News - Wed, 04/19/2017 - 10:25

Tommy Scheumann creates this amazing render which he originally made in 2013. He gave it a complete makeover with his current skills, and the result is killer. You can spend a long time looking at all the details and objects in the room. My favorite is the "Build Mass with SASS" poster, what interesting things [...]

The post Fallout Universe Lootroom appeared first on BlenderNation.

Categories: 2D & 3D Animation

Pages